Freeform Katia

October 23, 2007

parenting skills

Filed under: emerson — freeformkatia @ 6:56 am

This whole parenting business… I’ve got to tell the non-parents a secret: we parents have no idea what we’re doing. I’m raising my kids on a wing and a prayer, I’m flying by the seat of my pants. I did not go to Parent School. I did not take Discipline With Patience 101. I did not take a course on After Bedtime Martini Mixing (and I regret this. Really.)

One of my parenting techniques is that when Maja has one of those irrational (yeah, I know, I have yet to meet a rational one) temper tantrums I calmly suggest to her that perhaps she should lie down on the floor while she works it out. I did this once while we had company over and they were a little shocked at this suggestion. I confessed to them that while I had no idea what I was doing it did seem to work as Maja usually stops crying 30 seconds later, stands up and says “I all done crying now.”

So, about 6 weeks ago one of our neighbours dropped off about 20 parenting magazines for us. They had received a subscription as a gift but didn’t need it. It’s confusing because these neighbours are easily in the late-60s/early-70s. You would think that they don’t need any more parenting advice. I suspect that we were the lucky recipients of these magazines, instead of one of the other 6 families on our block with young children, because our neighbours were sick of hearing me walking down the street with two screaming children in the stroller. They must have thought I really needed the help.

After that initial bulk deposit of magazines, once a month they push the latest issue through my mailslot. The problem, however, is that Emerson has recently taken to attacking the mail as it comes through the mailslot. He actually lies in wait by the front door everyday around 2pm. Clearly the unsolicited daily credit card offers have started to annoy him as well.

This is how I found my latest issue of the parenting magazine

I suspect next month we’ll start receiving a dog obedience training magazine.

1 Comment »

  1. I think by the visual that Emerson has decided your parenting skills are just fine. Kinda reminds you of Toto?

    Comment by Kirsten — October 24, 2007 @ 8:29 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

